The Greek Souvlaki Shack

The Greek Souvlaki Shack caused a Greek food craving frenzy in my life a few months ago, and I thought it was time I told more people about this place.   I first tried it for dinner with friends one evening, and returned the very next night with another group because I couldn’t stop thinking about it!!  So glad this place is just a few blocks away!

The first night we started with the Greek Fries….and the second night I insisted we do the same thing.  It’s basically a Greek poutine.  And as a good Canadian, I love all things poutine related.  Perfect, crispy fries, feta cheese, Greek spices and just enough olive oil to lightly coat the fries, but not be overwhelming at all.  PERFECT.

Greek Fries

On the second visit we tried another appetizer:  the Greek sausage.  It was juicy with a nice crisp-ish coating, and was served with red onion.  Thumbs up all around!

Greek Sausage and Fries

The main course was beyond good.  Every bite.  So so so good.  The first night I got the chicken souvlaki, but wolfed it down too quickly to take a photo.  The second visit I tried the Beef Gyro platter, and that is what you see below.  The platters all came with rice pilaf (amazing), potatoes and  fresh, perfect Greek salad. All the flavours flying around this dinner were just exceptional.   I loved it from start to finish, and needless to say, I’ve found my go-to Greek place in Ottawa!

I also had to ask what kind of olive oil they used because it was noticeably light and delicious.  Turns out it’s just from Coscto!  Guess that means it’s time to get a membership….

Beef Gyro Platter

I haven’t had room for dessert any of the 3 times I’ve been to this place (I also went back again with my mom when she was in town…).  But all kinds of Greek pastries are displayed temptingly along the front counter.  Maybe one day I’ll have the will power to skip the Greek Fries at the beginning to save room for dessert.  Maybe….

1 Comment

Filed under Restaurant Food

One response to “The Greek Souvlaki Shack

  1. Pingback: Tzatziki | theadmirableadmiral

Leave a Reply

