Southern BBQ Dinner Party

My, my, my, this was a FEAST!  In honour of some good friends getting engaged, they hosted a group of people at their house – how does that work exactly?  Shouldn’t it have been the other way around? – anyways, they fed us all so much food I’m not sure anyone needed to eat the following day.  The theme was Southern BBQ and everything was hearty, meaty and saucy .  Wait until you see this menu!

Let’s start with the appetizers…

The spinach and artichoke dip with Tortilla chips was savoury and cheesy.  Two very high ranking food qualities in my world!

Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Then there were maple, dijon & bacon chicken wings….yup, bacon grease used to cook the wings.  Check!

Maple Dijon & Bacon Chicken Wings

I contributed some good old BBQ Stuffed Jalapenos.  Tried, tested and delicious.

BBQ Stuffed Jalapenos

Cheese and crackers and other nibbley things scattered the table.  My first of more than one plate of appetizers….

Appetizers

Now onto the main course…..not that there was much real estate left in my stomach.

Ribs.  Enough said.

Ribs

There was mac and cheese too – it had a delightfully crispy bread crumb topping and nice zesty cheese flavour.

Mac and Cheese

Can’t forget the homemade cheddar, bacon and jalapeno cornbread….

Bacon, Cheddar and Jalapeno Cornbread

And the coleslaw…to go with the pulled pork…

Coleslaw

There’s still more!  The Baked Beans, were excellent, I’m definitely making them!

Baked Beans

I didn’t get an individual shot of the pulled pork, but that part they contracted out to The Smoque Shack.  Dynamite, as usual. And super fresh buns only improved the situation.

Here is a shot of all the main course goodness:

Main Course Spread

My plate.  Isn’t gluttony grand?

Main Course

At this point I was a blimp.  But wait, there’s more.  It’s just not a Southern BBQ dinner party without multiple desserts.

Like Cookie dough cheesecake, for example.

Cookie Dough Cheesecake

And fruit!  There was at least one healthy aspect to the evening!

Fruit Tray

Cookies….

Assorted Cookies

And squares…. I believe these were also cheesecake, but I can’t confirm because there is just noway a person can consume all this food.

Squares

And last but not least……Skittles!

Skittles

Such a fun and delicious night!

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner Parties

4 responses to “Southern BBQ Dinner Party

  1. Ruvini

    Damn Kate, this food looks so good. And I thought we had it good the first time around. Man, you gotta love Sarah’s Italian side in her. I have always wanted to try cornbread. P.S. the jalapenos look delish. Where d’ya all learn to cook so well!

    Ruvini

  2. Melissa

    That was just ridiculous….ain’t gluttony grand!!!! I may crash the next dinner party you mention now

Leave a Reply

