Som Tum Thai

Som Tum Thai is easily my favourite Thai restaurant in Ottawa.  That might not be a completely fair statement, since every time I crave Thai food I go directly to Som Tum.  I haven’t really given the other Thai places much of a chance.  I have a hard time spending money on something that might be less delicious than something that I know is guaranteed to be delicious.

So my brother and his family were in town last week, and we decided to get take out.  Otto, his 2 1/2 year old son (and famously picky eater) tried some of his mom’s veggie pad Thai and declared that it was “really good”, and that he wanted more.  That’s a tough critic to please!

Anyways, here is a peak at our feast.

Poa Pia Kai & Kai Krob - Chicken Spring Rolls & Crispy Chicken with chili and basil sauce

Otto’s favourite!

Vegetarian Pad Thai

This curry is what I usually go for.  It’s so flavourful, and so spicy it’s almost too hot to eat.  But oh so flavourful.  Did I already mention that?

Pa Nang - Dry red curry with chicken and coconut milk

In keeping with the rest of their dishes, this one is just straight up delicious. Not sure what kind of oil/seasoning they use, but I would love to figure it out some day.  It would save me a great deal of money.

Kao Pad - Fried Rice with Chicken, Egg and Vegetable

Run!  Run to Som Tum Thai!

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurant Food

Leave a Reply

